I Need My ThinkPad Back

Last week my laptop’s motherboard crashed and I couldn’t get a replacement so far (ThinkPad isn’t a common brand in Ethiopia). In result of this ,my productivity has been highly affected in the last few days. Keep in mind that I have a 4G HTC smartphone and a Motorola Xoom tablet.

My productivity decreases almost by 50% since my laptop crashed. The graph above is just the general illustration when you don’t have a laptop or when you get a new laptop.

When I lost my laptop my productivity immediately decreased nearly by 80%. I spent most of the two days, re-writing my drafts, collecting important data from friends and backup, downloading online data, pictures etc… But later on the productivity stays in the same level (but still low)

When I get a new laptop, I know that my productivity won’t increase immediately. I estimate it takes about two weeks really to get my laptop to function the way I want it. Including installing proper applications, synchronizations, bookmarking, downloading different encodings for videos, folder management, and getting used to the specific behavior of the combination of the applications work together in a specific laptop.

I haven’t found a proper solution on what to do yet at a time of laptop failure and theft. The only other option is to use Cloud services but the connection in the country won’t let me do that.😦

Finally, I decided to take days of from Monday on for a couple of days. It is better not to work (with the expense of my vacation) than working with low productivity.

7 comments

  1. nnegatu · February 10, 2012

    don’t worry man, i am sure you will figure a way to make it all work. My laptop hasn’t crushed but i am least productive with it… All the best!

    • eweket · February 10, 2012

      Thanks, I hope i will get things run normal again. I have tight relationship with my laptop – since my work on collaboration

  2. sukersays · February 11, 2012

    This is how u know that technology actually ruined us… We have nothing else to do when something goes wrong- and honestly, “something wrong” is bound to happen. (If it happened to a computer junkie – you – it can happen to any of us) And…what…do…we…do…then? We’ve become very dependent and I don’t know if that is such a great thing.:-/

    • eweket · February 13, 2012

      As a computer junkie, dependency isn’t a problem..but dependency in one solution is.

  3. dandon · February 13, 2012

    ……you are not alone man! I am a victim of such crash too. Last week, at the middle of no-where while I was surfing the net and listening to online streaming music my Toshiba Satellite laptop has crashed to passive equipment. I try to check if it runs out of charge but the result was not promising. I can’t even see the AC power indicator lit on it.

    PS: I am sick and tired of working on a highly censored computers at office.

    Cheers!

  4. Elyas Mulu Kiros · February 15, 2012

    I feel you!😆 I remember what happened to me recently when m mac went on silent mode on me! Nice entry!🙂

    I have nominated you for the ABC (AWESOME Blog Content) Blogger Award: http://kweschn.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/abc-for-me-abc-for-you/ Cuz you so deserve it!😉

    Cheers,

    PS: Don’t forget to pass it on to other deserving bloggers!🙂 Show them love!🙂

    • eweket · February 15, 2012

      Thanks Elyas! You are always my favorite blogger🙂 for my horror, my phone has stopped working this morning (Hello! Internet cafe!!). Highly devastated. I start to feel that i am abusing my devices and where are the dummies book??😦

Leave a Reply

