Just Buddies

It is way dramatic.

In day to day life, there is some progress. Bad or good; High or low; Slow or rapid – But a progress.

The Chinese people say, “It doesn’t matter if you go slowly as long as you keep on going”. I can’t agree more. But the truth is I hate slow life. I hate it so much that I feel like choosing to stop instead.

Stop

I mean, wait.

Why don’t I have any Chinese friend, by the way? At least, I should have one on Facebook. Right? The thing is I’m not the only one. Ramy doesn’t have one, neither does Mike, neither does everyone. I thought we are in love with the Eastern world – at least our politicians. May be, we don’t trust the Zurich bank anymore. Banks at Beijing seems to be safe for now.

Once I heard on “ETV” – Sorry “ETV” to put you in quote, but get used to it – “We are a friend with anyone who wants to be a friend with us”. I swear I tried, but I really can’t swallow this statement. They are building roads, hospitals, an Eastern Zone. The thing is, the Italians also built roads, bridges and shops sometime ago when they were in love with us and when they travelled all the way to Ethiopia.

I like individuals who have great ideas, and anyone involves in development actions. But forget the roads for a while (don’t get me wrong, because I am on my computer now). We just don’t need little China in Ethiopia.

For some of you, who already skipped four paragraphs from this piece, because you don’t know what the hell I am talking about, please get deceived with this article’s title.

I say

Strong friendship between two governments mean literally nothing if there is no people-to-people friendship.

10 comments

  1. tewedajua · October 18, 2011

    i always wanted to say something bout it! but i would have put it any better!!
    and i dont have a chinese friend either! not even on fb!! lol!!!!

  2. tewedajua · October 18, 2011

    sorry! i wouldnot have put it any better!

  3. Fre · October 18, 2011

    I have a Chinese friend on Facebook😉

  4. africanmelancholia · October 18, 2011

    I do have a Chinese friend :p

  5. Elyas Mulu Kiros · October 18, 2011

    Great article. iLike the satire. But as much as I would like to agree with the last statement, I would rather not.

    Having a strong G2G friendship will eventually lead to having a strong P2P friendship. It’s unrealistic to expect a strong P2P friendship without a strong G2G friendship. Government is a machine run by people after all, and it is those people who serve as bridges to connect two nations, to build friendship, to exchange culture, etc.

    • eweket · October 18, 2011

      Yeah, it feels like chicken and egg… though, i am more concerned about if friendship hangs on only at G2G level and not P2P friendship. Governments should be proactive and start the friendship. But then, it should go down to P2P friendship. That’s what i couldn’t see in E2C friendship.🙂

      thanks for dropping by!

      • Elyas Mulu Kiros · October 18, 2011

        I agree with you, but it will take time before a strong E2C friendship at P2P level can take a root. Remember, both China and Ethiopia opened up themselves to both the outside world and each other pretty recently, as compared to other nations, so both cultures tend to b quite protective of themselves, and a bit closed/reserved … especially, C. I for example find it so easy to strike a convo with a Jap than with a Chinese, that is not to say Chinese are bad people, it is just that it is not so easy to break the ice with them, but once you do, they are really nice people! I have more than enough Chinese friends, but it wasnt easy to build that friendship in the beginning.🙂 I think as China opens up itself in a lot of areas, and as more foreigners enter it, either through business, education or what have you, the P2P bond will grow for sure.

  6. andthree · October 19, 2011

    fret not thyself, i say! ethio-chinese children, coming to your neighborhood, soon!

  7. Pingback: Conversation with Thyself « After Ride

Leave a Reply

