I Drink My Coffee Too Fast , So That the Sugar Doesn’t Get Mixed

As long as the spoon is falling inside the cup, the coffee doesn’t have enough sugar.

Probably, it doesn’t worth to think about it. But every time I order coffee in these cafes, they put a lot of sugar in it that makes it undrinkable.

Recently, I started to get mad by the cafes and restaurants in Addis. The Service has been improved a lot compared to the last five years for instance, but you can still get fairly mad at the restaurants. Four things that almost every restaurants have in common in Addis.

1. You can’t get menu until you ask for it:

The restaurants shouldn’t wait until the customer ask for the menu. Nobody comes to the restaurant to hang around. Taking long time to bring food is one thing, taking long time to bring the menu is another thing. I assume, you don’t cook the menu, or even print it out for every dinner. Spelling error in the menu discourages people from ordering it. I simply imagine if they can’t write it correctly, how do they cook it tastefully?

2. Shouting at the waiters doesn’t make the customers comfortable:

Ah, you are running a restaurant, not a military group. I usually feel discomfort when the owner/manager of the restaurant shout at the waiters. The wrong assumption is that when the waiters make mistakes, the customer get mad. True! but It is even worse when you treat them so badly.

3. Waiters, learn to write down orders:

You have great memory, but writing down the order doesn’t kill you. Now a days, I give up changing my food to the right order. I usually don’t have preferences. I don’t mind choosing between Burgers and Tibes – yes, this wide. But it is tiresome to eat what i don’t order all the time. I don’t even like it when they come back and ask me what I ordered. Sometimes, i don’t even remember it. I recall this one time, the food took long time to come that i had no idea what I ordered anymore. It was a surprise lunch. But I don’t want to get surprised all the time.

4. Stop feeding us too much Oil:

Is it me or it happens to everyone? Every time I order something, it is coming literally swimming inside oil. We go to the restaurant to get healthy food. Have you eaten Spaghetti recently? I think I missed the market price for cooking oil these days, but I don’t need too much oil in my food no matter how cheap it could get.

Well, these are what is in my mind in this very moment, my timely, recent emotional thought of restaurants in Addis. Different people have different experiences. What is your wildest experience in Ethiopian restaurants?

11 comments

  1. nebiyou · March 25, 2011

    guess what i found a cockroach in my lazagna….

    • sukersays · April 5, 2011

      i found a cockroach on my lunch too last week… at SHERATON! lol

      • eweket · April 5, 2011

        sheraton? it is weird. It suppose to be luxury collection. That’s why i don’t eat there..😉

      • specter · April 5, 2011

        Cockroaches are a good source of protein. lol

  2. eweket · March 26, 2011

    Did you eat the rest of the lasagna?😉 thanks for your comment

  3. Ramy · March 27, 2011

    Dude you are becoming a bitter guy but those guys are funny as you are….. you know those jockers they are hilarious but they don’t laugh😉 good one be like this more

  4. eweket · March 27, 2011

    thanks for your comment Ramy. Your blog is also awesome. Just one simple tip: before you comment to other person blog, try to login to your blog so that your blog will be linked to the comment. It is good strategy to get more traffic. Cheers!

  5. sukersays · April 5, 2011

    LOLLLLLL ok, you are an inspiration!!! i love this blog. especially the title.😉

    p.s. i see you’re starting to write more. keep it up!

  6. eweket · April 5, 2011

    Thanks Sara for your kind words. You haven’t blog recently. Get motivated, and cheer us up

  7. Mickey · April 13, 2011

    Finally, i’ve started reading your blogs…i like this one, looking forward to reading more of them.

    • eweket · April 13, 2011

      Hi Mickey, Thanks for reading my blog. I know, you wrote very nice restaurant reviews for What’s out Addis. If you want to have a guest blog. You are always Welcome!!

Leave a Reply

