TEDx Addis

It has taken me so long to write this article. Part of the reason was being busy doing urgent tasks. I was helping out ECAO to have network infrastructure and trying to configure a surfboard computer. But part of the reason was TEDx Addis was too cool that I needed more relaxed time to generate a nice article.

“ho ho ho, ha ha ha”

For those of you who participated in the event, you would probably smile and remember this expression. It is funny, but that’s the idea in the first place, to make you laugh without any cause. I found it very interesting that Belachew Girma (World Laughter Master) made a career out of laugh and he could manage it very well. He can’t make a speech without laughing. But making a speech about laugh without laughing doesn’t make sense and he is a master of it.

TEDx Addis wasn’t all about laugh though. All the speakers were well prepared and I could perfectly picture myself sitting being inspired and moved. Israel Belema (Engineer and Inventor) had stolen the show. It is hard to imagine his intelligence especially when it comes to mobile technology.

I remembered to vote for Yohannes Gebregeorgis (Social Entrepreneur) to win CNN Heroes in 2008. He actually won and perfectly deserved it. He did great job to change the culture of reading in Ethiopia. He made a marvelous job in schools and for people who never got the chance to read a single article. Probably, he is the only figure whenever one talks about mobile library. His TEDx talk was a bit emotional too. He tearfully announced that he has been pushed out of his own organization. It made me remember Steve Jobs, the CEO of Apple who was also in the same situation. How can somebody be fired from the company he founded?

I personally know Dirk Hebel (Architect) well. In the whole country, there are only two universities where students can boldly say they are happy being part of the campus – Adama University and EiABC. Dirk is a scientific director of EiABC and he already wrote his name in bold in Addis. I admit I missed his speech and Bruktawit Tigabu’s (Innovative Educator), the only woman speaker in the event and the one who perfectly deserve the title “Educator”. I met her in ict cracker meeting and she inspired me there already.

Henock Temesgen (Musician) is a base guitarist. He was talking about creating a perfect song at the moment. He could of course manage to create a nice music in that moment with his beloved bass guitar. Shall I say speech with deeds? Dr. BT Costantinos (Policy Advisor) made a tremendous speech too. I was wondering if the audience got his ideas in full. He has this passion for the renaissance of Africa. I could also see the same amount of passion in the eyes of Daniel Gad (Entrepreneur), who sees things what ordinary people cannot. He had one word in his speech, that’s the only thing he wanted us to remember – Food!

The first TEDx Addis was successful in many terms. The organizers effort was visible. The audiences were a kind of audience you expect in this kind of event. I could imagine organizers were a bit busy choosing the right speakers, though I saw a lot of familiar faces of listeners. I don’t think it is because I have huge amount of contacts but the invitation were a bit of circulated in few circles. I know, many people disagree with me, but I didn’t like the stage in Harmony hotel. The power cut was like part of the event, I was complaining why they didn’t write it down in the schedule. Well, I don’t mind if I read, there is a power cut at 11:15. But they couldn’t do anything about it. Could they?

I want to conclude my blog with the TEDx Addis slogan. Because this exactly what happened in the event. “Be encouraged and encourage others. Be inspired and inspire others.”

Leave a Reply

